Football Sierra Leone website logo

Old Football Sierra Leone Website

The inaugural edition of FIFA's new prime club competition is scheduled to take place in the United States from June 15 to July 13, 2025.

Esperance, Sundowns join Al Ahly & Wydad in Club World Cup

The inaugural edition of FIFA’s new prime club competition is scheduled to take place in the United States from June 15 to July 13, 2025. 

Esperance, a Tunisian team, and Mamelodi Sundowns, a South African club, have secured their spots in the inaugural FIFA Club World Cup (Mundial de Clubes FIFA 25™) for next year. 

They have become the third and fourth teams from the Confederation of African Football (CAF) to qualify for the competition – following the just-concluded semi-final matches of the CAF Champions League, which took place on Friday.

Esperance defeated Sundowns 2-0 on aggregate and will now play against Al Ahly in the final. 

The winner will qualify as African champions for the new 32-team FIFA Club World Cup. Al Ahly and Wydad Casablanca have already secured their places in the competition.

Even if Esperance fails to win the final, they will still take up one of the two remaining CAF berths. Sundowns will also participate in the competition. 

The new FIFA Club World Cup format aims to feature elite teams from each confederation, with four African sides participating: Wydad (Morocco), Al Ahly (Egypt), Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), and ES Tunis (Tunisia).

Share This Article

More News

error: Content is protected !!