Football Sierra Leone website logo

Old Football Sierra Leone Website

Al Ahly win a record 12th African Champions League

Al Ahly win a record 12th African Champions League 

Egyptian team Al Ahly won their 12th African Champions League title by defeating Esperance 1-0 in the second leg of the final in Cairo. 

The first leg ended in a goalless draw in Tunisia. Al Ahly took the lead early in the second leg when Rami Rabia’s header from Hussein El Shahat’s corner deflected off Esperance midfielder Roger Aholou and into the bottom right-hand corner.

Al Ahly had several chances to extend their lead before halftime, with Wessam Abou Ali striking the side-netting and Percy Tau firing narrowly wide. However, Esperance’s goalkeeper Amanallah Memmiche denied El Shahat. Esperance struggled to create chances against Al Ahly’s solid defence, with Yan Sasse curling off target just after the hour mark.

In the final moments, substitute Afsha nearly doubled Al Ahly’s lead with a free-kick that hit the crossbar. Al Ahly won 1-0 overall, securing their fourth Champions League title in five years. Al Ahly’s unbeaten streak in continental competition now stands at 22 games. 

They have also secured qualification for FIFA’s Club World Cup, alongside Esperance, Wydad Casablanca, and Mamelodi Sundowns, which will take place in the United States next year.

Share This Article

More News

error: Content is protected !!