Football Sierra Leone website logo

Old Football Sierra Leone Website

Bertrand Traore out of Burkina Faso squad for Egypt & S/Leone 

Bertrand Traore left out of Burkina Faso squad for Egypt & Sierra Leone 

Burkina Faso’s head coach, Brama Traore, has announced the squad for the upcoming 2026 Africa World Cup qualifying matches. Skipper Bertrand Traore, who scored in the draw 1-1 against Guinea-Bissau and their 3-0 win over Ethiopia, is not included.

The absence of team’s star, Bertrand Traore, who plays for La Liga side Villarreal, is a notable absentee as they prepared to face Egypt at Cairo Stadium on Thursday, June 6th, and host Sierra Leone at the Mar du 26 stadium in Bamako, Mali, on June 10th.

Traore scored in the draw against Guinea-Bissau and their 3-0 win over Ethiopia. Group A’s second-placed team, Les Étalons, secured their first win in the 2026 World Cup qualifiers by defeating Ethiopia’s Walias on November 21, 2023, in Morocco after their opening draw with Guinea-Bissau.

In the current standings, Egypt leads Group A with six points, followed by Burkina Faso and Guinea-Bissau with four points each. Sierra Leone and Ethiopia are tied on one point each, while Djibouti has no points after losing their first two games.

The winners of the nine qualifying groups will secure automatic qualification for the World Cup, while the best four runners-up will participate in the FIFA playoff tournament.


Goalkeepers: Hervé Koffi (R Charleroi SC), Farid Ouedraogo(AS Vita Club Kinshasa), Kilian Nikiema (ADO Den Haag)

Defenders: Edmond Tapsoba (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Nasser Djiga (Red Star Belgrade), Adama Nagalo (FC Nordsjaelland), Mohamed Ouedraogo (SCR Altach), Steeve Yago (Aris Limassol), Saidou Simporé (NBE Club), Valentin Nouma (FC Saint Eloi Lupopo)

Midfielders: Sacha Bancé (Valenciennes FC), Blati Toure (Pyramids FC), Gustavo Sangari (Quevilly – Rouen Métropole), Cedric Badolo (FC Sheriff Tiraspol), Stephane Aziz Ki (Young Africans FC), Ismahila Ouedraogo (Panserraikos), Regis N’Do (CF Estrela)

Forwards: Hassim Traore (Joué-lès-Tours), Lassina Traore (Shakhtar Donetsk), Mohamed Konate (Akhmat Grozny), Ousseni Bouda (San Jose Earthquakes), Dango Ouattara (AFC Bournemouth), Hassane Bande (HJK Helsinki)

Share This Article

More News

error: Content is protected !!